The Breakfast

It’s no secret that in my house dad is the chef.  I try to cook, I do, but something in me just sits there with a blank look and misses the point entirely.  I can make soup (can’t over cook it!) and am a whiz with a crock pot.  That’s about the best of my cooking ability right there.

Colt is well aware of this unskilled part of me, mostly because I’ve had to prepare food for him since birth, but it’s SUPER highlighted when you put my cooking next to his fathers.  Dad can cook the cheapest cut of meat and it suddenly turns into something you’d happily pay $50 for at a fine dining restaurant.   My food is more reminiscent of a high school cafeteria.

This morning Colt’s dad had to leave early for work.  I got him up, got us ready then approached the subject of breakfast.

“What would you like to eat today my love?”  I asked.

“Pancakes!” He replied.  I went to the freezer to get some “toaster pancakes” (pre-made then reheated in the toaster – so quick and easy)  but we were all out.  I found a box of buttermilk waffles, however, so thought I’d give it a shot.  I put two in the toaster…just a regular toaster, mind you, nothing fancy or complicated, and pushed the lever down.  Colt eyed me a little suspiciously but decided to wait on the results prior to casting judgement.

When the thing popped, I checked to see if the waffles were toasted and tossed them on a plate with some butter and syrup.  I walked ten steps to the table, put them down and called Colt to come eat.  He stabbed a bit with his fork and, *Crunch*  fork wouldn’t go through.  He tried again, poking a piece of waffle with trepidation, with the same result.  Somehow, in those few moments between the pop of the toaster and the serving of breakfast, the waffles went from toasty warm to rock solid bits of “food” that were able to deflect a metal fork.

He looked up at me and I could see pity in his eyes.  He said,

“Heeeeeey mom, my beautiful girl…thank you for making me…umm…waffles.  I think I’d really like some nice toast with butter instead?  Ummm…and can I make it please?”

I was stubborn and made him let me prepare the toast but he stood right beside me the entire time.

After a successful breakfast was finally completed we got ready and drove over to the sitter’s house.  As I was on my way out the door Colt blew me a kiss and said,

“Aw my mom!  You did such a great job with that toast today!  I’m proud of you!!”

*shucks*  lol.  I do what I can, I do what I can.  $20 says the first words out of his mouth when I pick him up tonight are ‘Is dad cooking dinner tonight?’ (God I certainly hope so!!!)

4 thoughts on “The Breakfast

  1. It is lovely to read how Colton accepts you just as you are and looks for a way to compliment you no matter what. That kid has a lot to teach us all.

    If he was a whiner I’d be telling you it is unwise to say “What would you like to eat today my love?” instead of figuring out what options you could pull off before hand. — “How about some toast for breakfast, my love.”

    • Very wise! I’m lucky on the ‘choices’ front with Colt because once he establishes his ‘likes’ they become almost totally interchangeable. He is certainly one for routines but he adapts like a dream if you stay within the rules. 🙂

      Isn’t that amazing about him? The way the empathy isn’t sought, it just floods out of him? He had zero empathy for others for his first 5.5 years and it seemed like the end of the world for a time. I think he pours it on so thick with me because I ADORE it when he shares his love with me and I let him know it. lol. A lot. I don’t think I’ve been given a hug in the last year that i haven’t thanked him for. Now, he thanks me too. ❤

      Whoever said parenting was a thankless job, never met my boy.

  2. Colt is just a great kid. Every post I read makes me love him more and more. Too bad children have to grow up. They are just so adorable at this age.

    Cooking is not on the X chromosome, and some of us can cook, and some can’t. You are a great mother with or without a toaster! Patsye

    • Thanks Patsye, what a lovely thing to say. 🙂 I never thought I’d turn out to be the Betty Crocker type so it’s all good. Just glad I found myself a guy who can cook!!

Leave a Reply

